Special Thank You To Our Host! Scarborough High School Alvaro Montelongo Jr., Principal Meet the Spelling Bee Team: **Marilyn Hagans** Pronouncer **Don Hernandez** Manager, UIL **Devin Baltazar UIL Program Specialist, High Schools Mark Niles** UIL Program Specialist, Elementary and Middle Schools John Rassenfoss **UIL Program Specialist, HISD Debate Veronica Carroll UIL Program Specialist, HISD Debate Nydia Chavez** UIL Admn. Asst. II The Houston ISD UIL Academics

Department is proud to present the 2025 Houston ISD District

Spelling Bee!



Spelling Bee Information

The Spelling Bee will be conducted in rounds.

Words used in the competition come from the Scripps National

Spelling Bee.

A complete list of the rules is available at the registration table.

Awords

The top two winners will receive a trophy

The Spelling Bee Champion and runner-ups will advance to the

Houston Community College Regional Spelling Bee beginning

March 2025

Quiet Please!

We are very proud of the many ways our students demonstrate their talents. The spelling bee is an academic competition; therefore, we ask our guests to remember to be silent during each speller's turn and respectful of all participants in the bee.

Photo Opportunities

To provide minimal distractions to our spellers, please refrain from taking photos during the bee.







School	Champion Speller	Coordinator
Baylor College of Medicine	Jullien Palmares	Jennifer Green
BCM Biotech @ Rusk	Faith Ortiz	Kristin McDonald
Benavidez ES	Youssef Hmoud	Laura E. Talley
Briargrove ES	Sophia Cavazos	Marie Relampagos
Burbank MS	Joseph Johnson	Tiffanie Cole
Bush ES	Andy Zhang	Bryce Barry
Carrillo ES	Jason Caballero	Kelly Nakia
Condit ES	Adam El Annan	Silva Gretchen
Cornelius ES	Garry Lopez-Ortuño	Roslene West
Daily ES	Akshitha Aneesh	Kelly Hannemann
Davila ES	Victoria Pech	Felicia De Leon
Garden Oaks Montessori	Yusuf Ahmed	Lynn Ludtke
Hartsfield ES	Chance Mitchell	Courtney Shaye
Harvard ES	Otis Richardson	Dahnya Garcia
Hogg MS	Quinn Browning	Mary Chance
Horn ES	Anwita Kapat	Nicole Ellis
Lanier MS	Shravan Bodapati	Cheryl Hackett
Lovett ES	Athena Tan	Katherine Martin
Lyons ES	Draya Cordero	Carrie Pena
Mandarin Immersion MS	Jingyao Shao	Bin Wang
Mandarin Immersion ES	Annabelle Li	Bin Wang
Meyerland PVA Academy	Jonah Holliday	Celeste Cooper
Milne ES	Tehillah Onyia	Yachana Verma
Oak Forest ES	Aayat Hoda	Kersten Hunt
Parker ES	London Wallace	Allison Sendejas
Patterson ES	John Salinas	Kanwal Siddiqui
Pin Oak MS	Evelyn Faykus	Brooke Corso
Poe ES	Irene Sosa	John Tauser
River Oaks ES	Zachary Teoh	Christine Schoaps
Roberts ES	Shira Parchem	Kristina Tran
Roosevelt ES	Ellis Chavez	Ana Perez
School at St. George Place	Veronica Behera	Ranya Zakhour
Sinclair ES	Landon Hayes	Lee Mashburn
TCAH	Kyle Brawner	Rhonda Slater
TH Rogers ES	Shwetha Iyer	Raziel Villarreal
TH Rogers MS	Celia Ebhodaghe	AnaLysa Sawyers
Travis ES	Carmen Xanthe Price	Jennifer E. Moore
Twain ES	Iman Archer-Yearwood	Sara Friesen
West University	Claire Wion	Allison Lohman